This web page presents information about the work of the IMF in Cyprus, including the activities of the IMF Resident Representative Office. Additional information can be found on the Cyprus and IMF country page, including IMF reports and Executive Board documents that deal with Cyprus.

Back to Top

At a Glance: Cyprus and the IMF

  • Current IMF membership: 189 countries
  • Member since December 21, 1961
  • Quota: SDR158.20 million 
  • Each member country of the IMF is assigned a quota, based broadly on its relative position in the world economy. A member country's quota determines its maximum financial commitment to the IMF, its voting power, and has a bearing on its access to IMF financing.
  • Cyprus is represented in the Executive Board 
  • The Executive Board is responsible for conducting the day-to-day business of the IMF. It is composed of 24 Directors, who are appointed or elected by member countries or by groups of countries. The Managing Director serves as its Chairman. The Board usually meets several times each week. It carries out its work largely on the basis of papers prepared by IMF management and staff.

Back to Top

Cyprus and the IMF


Back to Top

Latest on Europe

Regional Economic Issues: Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe

May 2016

The Regional Economic Issues (REI) reports assesses the macroeconomic outlook for the Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe (CESEE) region in light of the latest global economic and financial developments. This update was published on May 6, 2016.

Read the report

Read the Survey Magazine article, "Emerging Europe Moves Ahead but Slower."