

Macro and Growth Policies in the Wake of the Crisis

March 7-8, 2011

IMF Headquarters 2, Conference Hall 1 Washington, D.C.

All participants are confirmed

Monday, March 7, 2011

7:45–8:45am Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:45–9:00am Welcoming Remarks — Dominique Strauss-Kahn

9:00–10:30am Session 1: Monetary Policy

Chair: Adam Posen

Lead Discussants:

1. Olivier Blanchard

2. Guillermo Ortiz

3. Otmar Issing

4. Joseph Stiglitz

10:30-11:00am

Coffee Break

11:00-12:30pm Session 2: Fiscal Policy

Chair: Kemal Dervis

Lead Discussants:

1. Partho Shome

2. David Romer

3. Sri Mulyani Indrawati

4. Robert Solow

12:30-2:00pm

Lunch

(HQ1, Second Floor Galleria)

Luncheon Remarks — John Lipsky, First Deputy Managing Director

2:00–3:30pm Session 3: Financial Intermediation and Regulation

Chair: Antonio Borges

Lead Discussants:

- 1. Jacob Frenkel
- 2. Y. Venugopal Reddy
- 3. Hyun Song Shin
- 4. Adair Turner

3:30-4:00pm

Coffee Break

4:00–5:30pm Session 4: Capital Account Management

Chair: Zanny Minton Beddoes

Lead Discussants:

- 1. Ricardo Caballero
- 2. Arminio Fraga
- 3. Rakesh Mohan
- 4. Josė Antonio Ocampo

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

8:15–9:00am Registration and Continental Breakfast

9:00–10:30am Session 5: Growth Strategies

Chair: George Akerlof

Lead Discussants:

- 1. Dani Rodrik
- 2. Paul Romer
- 3. Andrew Sheng
- 4. Michael Spence

10:30-11:00am

Coffee Break

11:00–12:30pm Session 6: The International Monetary System

Chair: John Williamson

Lead Discussants:

- 1. Már Guðmundsson
- 2. Olivier Jeanne
- 3. Charles Collyns
- 4. Maurice Obstfeld

12:30–12:45pm Closing Remarks – Olivier Blanchard

12:45-2:00pm

Lunch

(HQ2, Conference Hall 2)

Conference Coordinators: Tracey Lookadoo, Lucia Buono, Sumit Aneja, and Biva Joshi