## Mr. “LL”, Applicant v. International Monetary Fund, IMFAT Judgment No. 2019-1 (April 5, 2019) — Registry’s Summary

## Source details

**Canonical URL:** [Mr. “LL”, Applicant v. International Monetary Fund, IMFAT Judgment No. 2019-1 (April 5, 2019) — Registry’s Summary](https://www.imf.org/-/media/files/imfat/j2019-1-summary.pdf)

## Other formats

- [Markdown version](/-/media/files/imfat/j2019-1-summary.pdf.md)
- [Structured JSON version](/-/media/files/imfat/j2019-1-summary.pdf.json)

---

### Background
- Applicant was injured in the course of his employment with the IMF, resulting in a career-ending disability; his prognosis was initially uncertain and later determined to be permanently and totally disabling.
- Applicant filed a request for workers’ compensation benefits, which was initially rejected as untimely; the Fund subsequently waived its timeliness defense to the request.
- Applicant was separated from employment for medical reasons pursuant to GAO No. 16.
- The Administration Committee of the Staff Retirement Plan (“SRP” or “Plan”) initially determined Applicant did not qualify for a disability pension under SRP Section 4.3.
- Upon separation without a disability pension, Applicant was granted Separation Benefits Fund (SBF) payments pursuant to GAO No. 16; he elected to take part of his SBF benefits as paid leave to bridge to an early retirement pension under SRP Section 4.2 and the remainder as a lump-sum payment.
- The dispute arose from fifteen Grievances filed by Applicant, decisions of Fund Management accepting the Grievance Committee’s recommendations, and subsequent SRP Administration Committee rulings concerning Applicant’s pension entitlements after a later award of a workers’ compensation annuity.

### Principal decisions challenged
- The Workers’ Compensation Claim Administrator initially determined Applicant was eligible for benefits for “temporary” but not “permanent” total disability (i.e., not entitled to a workers’ compensation annuity); after reconsideration, the Claim Administrator awarded a workers’ compensation annuity of 66-2/3 percent of Applicant’s final pensionable remuneration, in accordance with GAO No. 20, Section 5.01.1.
- Following a Grievance Committee recommendation, Fund Management made the workers’ compensation annuity retroactive to the date Applicant’s early retirement pension commenced.
- Fund Management required Applicant to repay (pro-rated over a four-year period) the lump-sum SBF (medical separation) benefit on the ground that he was later receiving a workers’ compensation annuity.
- Fund Management referred coordination questions to the SRP Administration Committee, which decided:
  - to replace Applicant’s early retirement pension with a disability pension retroactive to his early retirement date; and
  - to pay Applicant a “coordinated” disability pension and workers’ compensation annuity that was (a) capped at the amount payable as a workers’ compensation annuity, (b) financed in part by the SRP, and (c) reduced by the amount of the commutation payment Applicant had taken on his early retirement pension.

### Tribunal’s analysis and findings
- The Administrative Tribunal sustained Applicant’s principal claim that the SRP Administration Committee erred in replacing his early retirement pension with a disability pension and in the manner it “coordinated” that pension with the workers’ compensation annuity.
- The Tribunal found the Committee misinterpreted and misapplied SRP Section 10.5, which grants discretionary authority to offset workers’ compensation payments against “such part of [a] disability pension provided hereunder, in such equitable manner as the Administration Committee shall decide.”
- Key findings:
  - There was no basis in the Fund’s law to pay a single “coordinated” annuity rather than separate SRP pension and workers’ compensation annuity payments.
  - Capping the annuity at the amount payable as a workers’ compensation annuity failed to give weight to Applicant’s years of service and contributions under the Plan.
  - The Tribunal concluded that “. . . it will not ordinarily be equitable for the Committee to permit the [workers’ compensation] annuity to be offset against that portion of the disability pension that the SRP participant had, in effect, accrued as a result of contributions made by both the participant and the Fund during the participant’s employment.” (Para. 174.)
  - The plain meaning of SRP Section 10.5 is that the participant retains both an SRP pension and a separate workers’ compensation annuity.
- On financing, the Tribunal held the Committee’s blending of SRP pension and workers’ compensation annuity—so that SRP assets were used to finance workers’ compensation benefits—was plainly contrary to the Plan:
  - SRP Sections 9.1 and 13.2 state that Plan assets may be used only to pay the Plan’s liabilities, and the Plan’s liabilities may be paid only from the Plan’s assets.
  - The Committee’s decisions wrongfully deprived Applicant of his SRP pension fully financed by the Plan and a separate workers’ compensation annuity fully financed by the IMF.
- The Tribunal rejected the Committee’s reliance on a 1992 Executive Board decision because that decision did not amend the Plan and was contrary to its terms; the Committee exceeded its narrow discretion under SRP Section 10.5.
- The Tribunal also concluded the Fund abused its discretion in requiring Applicant to repay the lump-sum SBF payment he had received under GAO No. 16 when he was later granted a workers’ compensation annuity; neither the Fund’s internal law nor Applicant’s separation arrangements letter provided a basis for that repayment.
- The Tribunal did not sustain Applicant’s claims that the Fund wrongfully:
  - breached a “duty of care” to take preventative measures to ensure Applicant’s health and safety;
  - failed to provide compensation for alleged injury to his spouse;
  - failed to provide compensation for lost personal effects;
  - failed to provide “special sick leave” for workers’ compensation related absence;
  - failed to compensate for alleged tax consequences of the Fund’s disability-related benefit determinations; or
  - failed to provide compensation for alleged procedural irregularities, delays, and failures to address confusion in the Fund’s laws on disability.

### Remedies ordered
- The Tribunal rescinded the contested decisions of the SRP Administration Committee and the Fund Management decision requiring repayment of the lump-sum separation payment made under GAO No. 16.
- Corrective measures ordered:
  - Applicant will be paid an early retirement pension (SRP Section 4.2), retroactive to the date of his eligibility for such pension, paid solely by the SRP Retirement Fund.
  - Applicant will be paid a separate workers’ compensation annuity (GAO No. 20) retroactive to the date of his separation from the Fund, paid solely by the IMF.
  - The Fund was ordered to pay Applicant interest on past due payments restoring his entitlements under the Fund’s internal law.
  - The Fund was ordered to reimburse Applicant legal fees and costs in the total sum of $27,531.50.

---


_Source: https://www.imf.org/-/media/files/imfat/j2019-1-summary.pdf_
