CNN Debate on the Global Economy


Moderator: Richard Quest


Richard Quest is anchor of Quest Means Business of CNN and hosts the monthly program CNN Business Traveller and CNN Marketplace Europe. He formerly anchored the monthly show Quest and the daily show CNN Today. Prior to joining CNN, Quest worked at the BBC, where he was the North America business correspondent, based on Wall Street for 12 years. Quest is British and holds an LLB (Hons) degree in Law from Leeds University.

Zeti Akhtar Aziz

Zeti Akhtar

Appointed Governor in 2000, Dr. Zeti has had an important role in the successful transformation of the financial system in Malaysia including overseeing the enactment of eight new major legislations for the financial sector.  Dr. Zeti is also actively involved in strengthening regional financial integration in Asia.  She chaired the regional taskforce that prepared the report for future financial cooperation in the region.

Agustin Carstens


Agustín Carstens holds a M.A. (1983) and a Ph.D. (1985) in economics from the University of Chicago and a B.A. (1982) in economics from the Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM). Dr. Carstens held several positions at the central bank, including Governor since early 2010. At the Ministry of Finance, he served as Deputy Minister from 2000 to 2003 and as Finance Minister from 2006 to 2009. At the IMF, he served as Executive Director from 1999 to 2000 and as Deputy Managing Director from 2003 to 2006. While serving as Mexico’s Minister of Finance, Dr. Carstens also chaired the IMF and World Bank Joint Development Committee. Since March 2015, he is the Chairman of the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC). He was named Central Bank Governor of the Year by The Banker in 2011 and by Euromoney in 2013. In June 2013 he received from the University of Chicago the Professional Achievement Award as a distinguished alumnus.

Jeroen Dijsselbloem


Jeroen Dijsselbloem has been Eurogroup President since January 2013, Chair of the Board of Governors of the European Stability Mechanism since February 2013, and Minister of Finance of the Netherlands since November 2012. Previously, he was a member of the House of Representatives of the Netherlands (2000-12), and advisor to the Dutch Minister of Agriculture (1996-98). He studied business and agricultural economics at Wageningen University (1985-1991) and completed business economics research towards a master's degree from University College Cork, Ireland.

Stanley Fischer


Stanley Fischer is Vice Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board.  From 2005 to 2013 he was Governor of the Bank of Israel.  Fischer was Vice Chairman of Citigroup from 2002 through 2005.  From 1994 to 2001, he was the First Deputy Managing Director of the IMF.  He served as Chief Economist of the World Bank from 1988 to 1990.  From 1973 to 1994, Fischer was a member of the MIT Economics Department.  Fischer was born in Zambia in 1943. 

Christine Lagarde


Christine Lagarde has been Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund since July 2011. She held various ministerial positions within the French government, including Finance and Economy Minister (2007–11), Minister for Foreign Trade, and Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries. She was also Chairman of the Global Executive Committee and Global Strategic Committee of Baker & McKenzie.


Media Partners