How We Work

The IMF serves as a global hub for knowledge on economic and financial issues. It shares this knowledge with government institutions such as finance ministries and central banks in different forms. This ranges from support on a policy issue — e.g. helping Liberia establish a more modern and professional tax administration — to holistic capacity development, which may include providing a resident specialist based in-country – e.g. working with Myanmar to provide a broad range of fiscal, monetary, legal and statistical support.

This hands-on advice, peer-to-peer learning, and training are delivered to the countries in various ways:
  • IMF staff offer expert advice to country officials both in country and remotely from headquarters. Such visits are focused on targeted issues and initiated at the request of the member country; the staff may stay in-country for a short period or be based long-term in an agency, depending on the country authority’s request.
  • A network of the IMF’s regional capacity development centers provides hands-on support to countries under the guidance of headquarters. These centers foster regional integration, allow for better tailoring of knowledge sharing to the needs of a region and facilitate an enhanced ability to respond quickly to emerging needs.
  • In-person and online training for government officials on targeted macroeconomic and financial topics. Online training is also provided to the general public through massive open online courses in partnership with edX.

Regional Capacity Development Centers

Training Map

A global network of regional capacity development centers (RCDCs) and training programs help to implement the IMF’s mandate to deliver capacity development services to its member countries through knowledge sharing. A regional approach facilitates an enhanced ability to respond quickly to a country’s emerging needs, as well as closer coordination with other development partners on the ground. It also fosters regional integration and allows for better tailoring of advice and training, helping countries advance towards the Sustainable Development Goals. Activities are complemented by global thematic funds focused on topical areas.

These locally-based regional centers anchor IMF support for knowledge sharing and are financed jointly by the IMF, external development partners, and member countries. They include:

Vehicle Partners Member Countries
Africa Training Institute (ATI) Angola, Australia, China, Korea, Mauritius, Seychelles, Togo 45 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa
AFRITAC Central (AFC) China, EIB, EU, France, Germany, Netherlands CEMAC group plus Burundi and Democratic Republic of Congo
AFRITAC East (AFE) EU, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, UK Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda
AFRITAC South (AFS) Australia, EU, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, UK Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe
AFRITAC West (AFW) EU, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Netherlands WAEMU plus Guinea and Mauritania
AFRITAC West 2 (AFW2) AfDB, Australia, Canada, China, EIB, EU, Switzerland Cape Verde, The Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria and Sierra Leone
Caribbean RTAC (CARTAC) Canada, EU, UK Members and associate members of CARICOM
Central America, Panama, & Dominican Republic RTAC (CAPTAC-DR) EU, Canada, Luxembourg, Mexico Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama
China - IMF Capacity Development Center China China and a range of member countries
Joint Vienna Institute (JVI) Austria (Primary Member) and international partners/donors 30 countries in central and southeastern Europe, the Caucasus, and Central Asia
Middle East Center for Economics and Finance (CEF) Kuwait Arab League member countries
Middle East RTAC (METAC) EU, France, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland Afghanistan, Algeria, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, West Bank and Gaza, and Yemen
Pacific Financial RTAC (PFTAC) ADB, Australia, EU, Korea, New Zealand Pacific Islands Forum (minus Australia and New Zealand) plus Timor-Leste and Tokelau
Singapore Training Institute (STI) Australia, Japan, Singapore 37 countries in the Asia-Pacific region
South Asia Regional Training & Technical Assistance Center (SARTTAC) Australia, European Union, India, Korea, United Kingdom Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka
Technical Assistance Office in Thailand (TAOLAM) Japan, Thailand Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, and Vietnam (core beneficiary countries), plus other countries in the Southeast Asia and the Pacific Islands region under select projects

The Joint Vienna Institute –
Training governments across Europe

Partners share how the Singapore Regional Training Institute helps boost economic policymaking

Online Learning

The IMF has significantly scaled up online learning as a vehicle to deliver training in macroeconomics and finance to government officials. Online courses are also being made freely available to the general public through massive open online courses in partnership with edX, the nonprofit online learning initiative founded by Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Since the launch of the program in late 2013, online courses have attracted over 42,000 active participants. Of those, close to 12,600 government officials and almost 11,000 people from the general public — from 192 countries — have successfully completed an online course

Click here to learn more about IMF online learning.