Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations - table of contents


l'Organisation de l'aviation civile internationale (OACI)



999 University                                            Telephone:   [1](514)954-8219
Montreal, Quebec H3C 5H7                                  Facsimile:   [1](514)954-6077
Canada                                                    E-Mail:

          President of the Council of ICAO:  ...   Assad KOTAITE
          Secretary General:                 ...   Taïeb CHÉRIF


Asia and Pacific Office
252/1 Vipavadee Rangsit Road                              P.O. Box 11
Ladyao, Chatuchak                                         Samyaek Ladprao, Bangkok 10901
Bangkok 10900                                             Telephone:   [66](2)537-8189
Thailand                                                  Facsimile:   [66](2)537-8199

Eastern and Southern African Office
United Nations Accommodation                              P.O. Box 46294, 00100 GPO
Limuru Road, Gigiri                                       Telephone:   [254](20)62-2395/6
Nairobi                                                   Facsimile:   [254](20)62-3028
Kenya                                                     E-mail:
European and North Atlantic Office
3 bis Villa Emile-Bergerat                                Telephone:   [33]14641-8585
92522 Neuilly-sur-Seine Cedex                             Facsimile:   [33]14641-8500
France                                                    E-mail:

Middle East Office
Egyptian Civil Aviation Complex                           P.O. Box 85, Cairo Airport Post Office
Cairo Airport Road                                        Terminal One
Cairo 11776                                               Telephone:   [20](2)267-4840
Egypt                                                     Facsimile:   [20](2)267-4843
North American, Central American and Caribbean Office
Av. Presidente Masaryk No. 29, 3rd Floor                  Apartado postal 5-377
Col. Chapultepec Morales                                  C.P. 06500, México, DF
C.P. 11570 México, DF                                     Telephone:   [52](55)5250-3211
Mexico                                                    Facsimile:   [52](55)5203-2757
South American Office
Edificio CORPAC, Zona Comercial                           Telephone:   [51](1)575-1646
Aeropuerto Internacional Jorge Chávez                     Facsimile:   [51](1)575-0974
Lima (Callao)                                             E-mail:
Peru                                                      Internet:

Western and Central African Office
15 boulevard de la République                             Telephone:   [221]839-9393
Dakar                                                     Facsimile:   [221]823-6926
Senegal                                                   E-mail:

LANGUAGES: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish


The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) was founded with the signing of the Convention on International Civil Aviation on December 7, 1944. A specialized agency of the United Nations, it sets international standards and regulations necessary for the safety, security, efficiency and regularity of air transport and serves as the medium for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among is 188 Contracting States.

ICAO inter alia: develops, adopts and amends international standards in all matters related to the operation of aircraft, airworthiness and the numerous facilities and services required in their support; establishes, with the cooperation of States, regional air navigation plans; creates standards for and helps States with aviation security; streamlines customs, immigration and public health formalities; assists, through technical cooperation activities, resource-scarce States to meet ICAO standards; collects and publishes world aviation statistical data and economic studies; drafts international air law conventions; and monitors the impact of civil aviation operations on the environment and develops relevant studies.


188 Contracting States: Islamic State of Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, The Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Republic of Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe


ICAO has a sovereign body, the Assembly, which consists of virtually all countries in the world (188) and meets at least once in three years. The Assembly reviews in detail the complete work program of the Organization in the technical, economic, legal and technical assistance fields and gives guidance to the future work of ICAO.

The governing body of ICAO is the Council. Elected by the Assembly for a three-year term, the Council consists of 33 States. The Council holds three 12-week sessions a year, thus providing continuing direction to the work of the Organization.


ICAO Journal (nine times yearly); Annual Report; Videos

UPDATED:  December 2003

Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations - table of contents