Skip to main content

Executive Directors & Management Team

Executive Directors & Alternates

The Executive Board is responsible for conducting the day-to-day business of the IMF. It is composed of 24 Executive Directors, who are elected by member countries or by groups of countries, and the Managing Director, who serves as its Chair.

All IMF member countries are represented on its Executive Board, which discusses the national, regional, and global consequences of each member’s economic policies and approves IMF financing to help member countries address temporary balance of payments problems, as well as oversees the IMF’s capacity development efforts.

Managing Director
Kristalina Georgieva

Management Team

The IMF has a Managing Director, who is head of the staff and Chair of the Executive Board. The Managing Director is assisted by a First Deputy Managing Director and three other Deputy Managing Directors.

First Deputy Managing Director
Gita Gopinath
Deputy Managing Director
Antoinette Sayeh
Deputy Managing Director
Kenji Okamura
Deputy Managing Director
Bo Li