Skip to main content

Who We Are

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is a global organization of 190 member countries set up to promote the health of the world economy. It works to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

IMF Organization Chart

As of April 30, 2020

  • International Monetary and Finance Committee
  • Board of Governors
    • Executive Board
        Managing Director and Deputy Managing Directors

        The Managing Director and Deputy Managing Directors oversee the Knowledge Management Unit, the Investment Office-Staff Retirement Plan, the Office of Budget and Planning, the Office of Internal Audit, the Office of Risk Management, the Change Management Unit, and the iLab.

        • Area Departments
          • African Department
          • Asia and Pacific, with a Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific
          • European Department, with Offices in Europe
          • Middle Easy and Central Asia Department
          • Western Hemisphere Department
        • Functional and Special Services Department
          • Communications Department
          • Finance Department
          • Fiscal Affairs Department
          • Institute for Capacity Development, including The African Training Institute, the Joint Vienna Institute, the Middle East Center for Economics and Finance (in Kuwait), and the Singapore Training Institute
          • Legal Department
          • Monetary and Capital Markets Department
          • Research Department
          • Statistics Department
          • Strategy, Policy, and Review Department, including the IMF Office United Nations²
        • Area Departments
          • Corporate Services and Facilities
          • Human Resources Department
          • Information Technology Department
          • Secretary's Department
    • Independent Evaluation Office
  • Joint IMF-World Bank Development Committee¹
  • Footnotes:
    1. Known formally as the Joint Ministerial Committee of the Board of Governors of the Bank and the Fund on the Trasfer of Real Resources to Developing Countries.
    2. Attached to the Office of teh Managing Director.