Rodrigo de Rato y Figaredo

Managing Director, IMF (June 2004-October 2007)
Biographical Information

Last Updated: July 28, 2017

Rodrigo de Rato assumed office as Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund on June 7, 2004. This followed his selection by the Executive Board of the IMF, on May 4, 2004, to serve as Managing Director and Chairman of the Executive Board. On June 28, 2007, he announced his intention to resign for personal reasons following the 2007 Annual Meetings; and he stepped down on October 31, 2007.

Prior to taking up his position at the IMF, Mr. de Rato was Vice President for Economic Affairs and Minister of Economy for the Government of Spain, a post to which he was appointed in May 1996. In his capacity as Minister of Economy, Mr. de Rato was also Governor for Spain on the Boards of Governors of the IMF, the World Bank, the Inter-American Development Bank, the European Investment Bank, and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. He regularly attended the European Union's Economics and Finance Ministers meetings, and represented the EU at the Group of Seven Finance Ministers meeting in Ottawa, Canada, in 2002, when Spain held the EU Presidency. He was also in charge of foreign trade relations for the Government of Spain, and represented Spain at the World Trade Organization's ministerial meetings in Seattle, United States, in 1999, in Doha, Qatar, in 2001, and Cancún, Mexico, in 2003. He was a member of Spain's parliament from 1982 to 2004.

Mr. de Rato earned a law degree in 1971 from the Universidad Complutense in Madrid, and a Master of Business Administration from the University of California at Berkeley in 1974. In 2003, he earned a PhD in Economics from the Universidad Complutense.

Mr. de Rato was the ninth Managing Director of the IMF. He directly succeeded Horst Köhler, who resigned from the IMF on March 4, 2004. Previous Managing Directors were Camille Gutt (Belgium, 1946-51), Ivar Rooth (Sweden, 1951-56), Per Jacobsson (Sweden, 1956-63), Pierre-Paul Schweitzer (France, 1963-73), H. Johannes Witteveen (Netherlands, 1973-78), Jacques de Larosière (France, 1978-87), and Michel Camdessus (France, 1987-2000).

Mr. de Rato, a Spanish national, was born in Madrid, Spain on March 18, 1949.