Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations - table of contents


Nations Unies Commission Économique pour l'Afrique (CEA)



Africa Hall                                                  Postal Add: P.O. Box 3001
Addis Ababa                                                  Telephone:  [251](1)51-7200
Ethiopia                                                     Facsimile:  [251](1)51-4416
                                                             (New York)  [1](212)963-4957

     Under-Secretary-General of UN &
       Executive Secretary of UNECA:     ...    K.Y. AMOAKO

                                Secretariat Officers

     Deputy Executive Secretary:         ...    Ms. Lalla Ben BARKA
     Secretary to the Commission and
       Chief of Staff:                   ...    Ms. Jo BUTLER
     Special Assistant to the
       Executive Secretary:              ...    Ali TODARO
     Director, African Centre for Gender
       and Development:                  ...    Ms. Joséphine OUEDRAOGO
     Director, Office of Policy Planning,
       and Resource Management:          ...    Samba JACK
     Director, Sustainable Development 
       Division:                         ...    Josué DIONE
     Director, Development
       Management Division:              ...    James NXUMALO
     Director, Development
       Information Services Division:    ...    Ms. Karima Bounemra Ben SOLTANE
     Director, Conference and General
       Services Division:                ...    Patrick CHIUMYA
     Director, Regional Cooperation
       and Integration Division:         ...    Yousif SULIMAN
     Director, Economic and Social
       Policy Division:                  ...    Patrick ASEA

LANGUAGES: Arabic, English, French


North Africa SRDC
P.O. Box 316                                               Telephone:  [212](9)32-2345-7
Tangiers                                                   Facsimile:  [212](9)34-0357
Morocco                                                    E-mail:

          Director:                ...       Abdelouahab REZIG

West Africa SRDC
P.O. Box 744                                               Telephone:  [227]72-2961
Niamey                                                                 [227]72-2788
Niger                                                                  [227]72-3825
                                                           Facsimile:  [227]72-2894

          Director:                ...       Jeggan SENGHOR
Central Africa SRDC
P.O. Box 836                                               Telephone:  [237]23-1461
Yaoundé                                                                [237]23-5622
Cameroon                                                   Facsimile:  [237]23-4076
          Director:                ...        Hakim BEN HAMMOUDA
East Africa SRDC
P.O. Box 5654                                              Telephone:  [250]8-6547
Kigali                                                                 [250]8-6549
Rwanda                                                                 [250]8-0151
                                                           Facsimile:  [250]8-6546

          Director:                 ...        Mbaye DIOUF
Southern Africa SRDC
P.O. Box 30647                                             Telephone:  [260](1)22-8503/23-1062
Lusaka                                                     Facsimile:  [260](1)23-6949
Zambia                                                     E-mail:

          Director:                 ...        Robert OKELLO


The United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) was established in 1958 when its Terms of Reference were adopted by Resolution 671A(XXV) of the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations on April 29, 1958. The main organ of UNECA is the Conference of Ministers responsible for Economic and Social Development and Planning supported by the Technical Preparatory Committee of the Whole (TEPCOW). The Conference of Ministers meets annually. The objectives of UNECA are: (a) to promote and facilitate concerted action for the economic and social development of Africa, including its social aspects; (b) to maintain and strengthen the economic relations of countries and territories of Africa, both among themselves and with other countries of the world; (c) to make or sponsor the collection, evaluation and dissemination of such economic, technological and statistical information as the Commission deems appropriate; and (d) to assist in the formulation and development of coordinated policies as a basis for practical action in promoting economic and technological development in the region.


53 member countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe


The Conference of African Ministers responsible for Economic and Social Development and Planning and its Technical Preparatory Committee of the Whole (TEPCOW) meet on a biennial basis. The Conference provides legislative mandate and policy guidance for the work of the Commission; considers and endorses the work programs of the Commission; serves as a forum for articulating Africa’s position on development issues on the agenda of the United Nations; and decides upon the recommendations of its subsidiary bodies and of the Executive Secretary.

The organs dealing with overall development issues are the five Intergovernmental Committees of Experts of the Sub-Regional Development Centres (SRDCs), which meet annually and report to the Commission through the TEPCOW. These Committees oversee the overall formulation and implementation of the program of work and priorities of the respective SRDCs and make recommendations (a) on important issues concerning economic and social development in their respective sub-regions as well as (b) on the promotion and strengthening of sub-regional economic cooperation and integration.

The Conference of African Ministers of Finance and the Conference of African Ministers responsible for Economic and Social Development and Planning convene biennially in alternate years.

Subsidiary bodies: Committee on Women and Development; Committee on Development Information; Committee on Sustainable Development; Committee on Human Development and Civil Society; Committee on Industry and Private Sector Development; Committee on Natural Resources and Science and Technology; Committee on Regional Cooperation and Integration.


Annual Report of the Economic Commission for Africa; Annual Report on Integration in Afica (AIRA); Africa Index; African Women Report; Africa's Population and Development Bulletin; Economic Report on Africa (ERA); Impact of trade reforms in Africa in promoting some key indicators; Population, Agriculture and Environment Interrelationship in Africa: some key indicators; Reforms of higher education with respect to the utilization of information technology; State of African Governance Report; State of the Environment; Trends in database development, management and dissemination for decision support in Africa.

UPDATED:  May 13, 2002

Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations - table of contents