Members of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal

Last Updated: January 29, 2019

Catherine O'Regan, a national of South Africa, has served as a Judge of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal since 2010 and as President of the Tribunal since January 2011. She was a Judge of the South African Constitutional Court from 1994 when the Court was established following upon the transition to democracy until October 2009 when her fifteen-year term ended. In 2016, she was appointed as the inaugural Director of the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights in the Faculty of Law at the University of Oxford. From 2008-2012, Judge O’Regan served as the inaugural Chairperson of the United Nations Internal Justice Council, a body established to help ensure the independence, professionalism and accountability of the new system of internal justice within the United Nations. From 2010-2016, she served as an ad hoc Judge of the Namibian Supreme Court and since 2012, she has served as a member of the World Bank Sanctions Board. Judge O’Regan also serves on the boards of both South African and international non-governmental organizations concerned with the promotion of constitutionalism, the rule of law and human rights. Since 2007, she has been closely associated with the establishment of the Southern African Legal Information Institute, which provides free access to judgments of courts across Southern Africa.

Andrés Rigo Sureda, a national of Spain, has served as a Judge of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal since 2010. He is an international mediator and arbitrator, an external member of the Sanctions Committee of the Inter-American Development Bank, an external member of the Sanctions Appeals Board of the African Development Bank and a member of the Sanctions Panel of The Global Fund. He is a former Deputy General Counsel of the World Bank where he had a long and distinguished career. Judge Rigo has chaired numerous arbitral tribunals in commercial and investment treaty disputes and has lectured and written on issues of law and development, arbitration, international law and international organizations. He lectured at The Hague Academy of International Law on “The Law Applicable to the Activities of the International Development Banks” and gave the Sir Hersch Lauterpacht Memorial Lectures on “Policy and Discretion in Investment Treaty Arbitration” at Cambridge University.

Jan Paulsson, a national of France and Sweden, has served as a Judge of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal since August 2011. He was President of the Administrative Tribunal of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development from 2008 to 2016 and was a member of the World Bank Administrative Tribunal from 1999 to 2013, serving as its President (2006-2010) and Vice-President (2004-2006). Judge Paulsson holds the Michael Klein Distinguished Scholar Chair at the University of Miami School of Law where he is also the Faculty Chair of the Specialization in International Arbitration. He has participated as counsel or arbitrator in over 500 arbitrations in Europe, Asia, the United States and Africa. He has served as President of the International Council for Commercial Arbitration, President of the London Court of International Arbitration, a Vice-President of the International Court of Arbitration of the International Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague, and a board member of the American Arbitration Association. He is a founding partner of Three Crowns LLP.

Edith Brown Weiss, a national of the United States, has served as a Judge of the International Monetary Fund Administrative Tribunal since 2012. She was Chairperson of the World Bank Inspection Panel, at the level of World Bank Vice President, 2003-2007, and a member 2002-2007. In 2014, she was appointed a Judge on the Administrative Tribunal of the Inter-American Development Bank and currently serves as its Vice President. She is the Francis Cabell Brown Professor of International Law at Georgetown University Law Center and serves on the UNEP International Advisory Council for Environmental Justice, Governance and Law. She has been President of the American Society of International Law (ASIL) 1994-1996, special legal adviser to the North American Commission on Environmental Cooperation, 1996-2002, and director, trustee, or adviser for international institutions, including the Japanese Institute for Global Environmental Strategies and the United Nations University. Her numerous publications address compliance and dispute settlement. She serves on many international editorial boards, including the American Journal of International Law, Journal of International Economic Law, and Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law. The Hague Academy of International Law has invited her to deliver the General Course on Public International Law. She has received many international awards for her work, including the ASIL Manley O. Hudson Medal and a doctorate honoris causa from University of Heidelberg, Germany.