2020 Michel Camdessus Central Banking Lecture

July 14, 2020

Back to Top



9:30 am - 9:33 am

Welcome remarks by Tobias Adrian, Financial Counsellor and Director of the Monetary and Capital Markets Department, IMF

9:33 am - 9:40 am

Opening Remarks by Kristalina Georgieva, Managing Director, IMF

9:40 am - 10:00 am
Lecture by Thomas J. Jordan, Chairman of the Governing Board, Swiss National Bank
Thomas J. JordanThomas J. Jordan is the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank. He joined the SNB as an Economic Advisor in 1997 after completing his postdoctoral thesis. Switzerland’s Federal Council appointed him as an Alternate Member of the Governing Board in June 2004 and subsequently as a Member in May 2007, Vice Chairman in January 2010 and Chairman in April 2012. He is an honorary professor at the University of Bern and received an honorary doctorate from the University of Basel in 2017. Mr. Jordan is a member of the Board of Directors and the Economic Consultative Committee of the Bank for International Settlements, as well as of the Financial Stability Board’s Steering Committee. He represents Switzerland on the Board of Governors of the International Monetary Fund and is Chairman of the G10 Central Bank Counterfeit Deterrence Group.
10:00 am - 10:35 am Conversation between Thomas J. Jordan and Kristalina Georgieva

Back to Top

About Michel Camdessus

Michel Camdessus assumed office as the seventh Managing Director and Chairman of the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in January 1987, and served until February 2000. Mr. Camdessus is the longest-serving Managing Director of the IMF to date. Previously, he held several senior positions in the French government, becoming Director of the Treasury in 1982. From 1978 to 1984, he also served as Chairman of the Paris Club, and was Chairman of the Monetary Committee of the European Economic Community from 1982 to 1984. Mr. Camdessus served as Deputy Governor of the Banque de France, and Governor of the Banque de France from November 1984 until his appointment as Managing Director of the IMF. He is currently an Honorary Governor of the Banque de France and a member of the Africa Progress Panel, a group of 10 distinguished individuals who advocate at the highest levels for equitable and sustainable development in Africa.