IMF Regional Capacity Development Initiatives

March 8, 2018

The IMF has a global network of capacity development centers that help implement its capacity development work in countries. The centers help IMF respond quickly to emerging needs of member countries, better tailor work to region-specific issues, and ensure close coordination with other stakeholders on the ground. Member and host countries, as well as external partners help IMF finance these centers. Their activities are complemented by IMF’s thematic funds .



The six regional centers in Africa form part of the IMF’s Africa Capacity-Building Initiative. Current partners include the European Union, Germany, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, the Netherlands, France, Luxembourg, China, Australia, Canada, the African Development Bank, Korea, the European Investment Bank and Russia.

East AFRITAC was opened in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, in 2002, and works with Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda. AFRITAC West was established in 2003 and is in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, working with Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, and Togo. AFRITAC Central was opened in Libreville, Gabon, in 2007 to work with Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) countries: Gabon, Cameroon, Chad, Republic of Congo, Central African Republic, and Equatorial Guinea, as well as Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo. AFRITAC South was established in Mauritius in 2011, and works with Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe—it is co-located and jointly managed with the Africa Training Institute (see below). AFRITAC West 2, opened in 2013 in Accra, Ghana, works with the English and Portuguese-speaking members of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): Cabo Verde, The Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, and Sierra Leone.

The Africa Training Institute (ATI) opened in Mauritius in June 2013. It conducts hands-on training and regional workshops, for officials from 45 sub-Saharan African countries. Financial support is provided by Mauritius, China, Korea, Australia, Seychelles, Angola, and Togo.


The Pacific Financial Technical Assistance Center (PFTAC), established in Suva, Fiji, in 1993, supports 16 Pacific island countries and territories: The Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor‑Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. Current external partners include New Zealand, Australia, the European Union, Korea, the Asian Development Bank, and the member countries.

The IMF-Singapore Regional Training Institute (STI) was established in Singapore in 1998 as a joint initiative with the Government of Singapore. The STI works closely with other IMF capacity development providers in the region, including the IMF Technical Assistance Office in Thailand (TAOLAM), the South East Asian Central Banks (SEACEN) Research and Training Centre, PFTAC, and the new South Asia Regional Training and Technical Assistance Center. Financing for the STI is provided by Singapore and Japan, with additional support from Australia.

The South Asia Regional Training and Technical Assistance Center (SARTTAC), which began operations in January 2017, is the first center to fully integrate training and technical assistance. Located in New Delhi, India, SARTTAC works with Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. Member countries finance two-thirds of the center’s budget, with additional funding from the European Union, Korea, the United Kingdom, and Australia.

In May 2017, the People’s Bank of China and the IMF signed a Memorandum of Understanding to establish a new China-IMF Capacity Development Center (CICDC) to help government officials from China and other countries, including from those associated with the Belt and Road Initiative, to build strong economic institutions and foster human capacity. The CICDC will be anchored in Beijing and support activities both inside and outside of China. Its precursor, the Joint China-IMF Training Program (CTP) was established in 2000 with the People’s Bank of China (PBC) to provide policy-oriented training in economics and related fields for officials from China.

Europe and Central Asia

The Joint Vienna Institute (JVI) was established in 1992 by the IMF, Austria (represented by the Federal Ministry of Finance and the Austrian National Bank), and several other international institutions. The oldest of the IMF’s regional capacity development centers, the JVI has trained more than 40,000 public officials, many of whom have gone on to senior positions, including central bank governor, minister, prime minister and even one president. In cooperation with the JVI, the IMF and the Ministry of Finance of Georgia have also established the Georgia Training Program to increase training for eight Caucasus and Central Asian countries. Financial support for the JVI is mainly provided by its primary members, Austria and the IMF.

Middle East

The Middle East Regional Technical Assistance Center (METAC) was established in Beirut, Lebanon, in 2004 and works with Afghanistan, Algeria, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, West Bank and Gaza, and Yemen. Current partners include Germany, Switzerland, France, the European Union, the Netherlands, Lebanon (the host country), and member countries.

The Middle East Center for Economics and Finance (CEF) started operations in 2011 to work with Arab League member countries, and is hosted and fully funded by Kuwait, through the Kuwait Investment Authority. The CEF has also partnered with the Arab Monetary Fund to conduct training activities in various Arab countries, and with Bank Al-Maghrib to conduct training in Morocco.

Western Hemisphere

The Caribbean Regional Technical Assistance Center (CARTAC) was established in Bridgetown, Barbados in 2001. It serves 21 Caribbean countries and territories: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and Turks and Caicos. Aruba and Sint Maarten are considering joining CARTAC in 2018. Funding for the current program cycle is provided by Canada, the United Kingdom, the European Union, and the host and member countries.

The Central America, Panama and the Dominican Republic Regional Technical Assistance Center (CAPTAC-DR) started operations in June 2009 in Guatemala City, Guatemala, and works with Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, and the Dominican Republic. Its current program cycle is supported by the European Union, Canada, Mexico, Luxembourg, and its member countries. The Center also collaborates with the Inter-American Development Bank.


The Joint Regional Training Program for Latin America (Brazil Training Program, BTP) was established in 2001 to host training on macroeconomic and financial analysis and policies, fiscal management, and statistics for Latin American officials. A joint venture with Brazil’s Central Bank (through its training arm, UniBC), the program also serves as a platform to disseminate policy experiences and challenges.