Regional Economic Issues: Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe

October 2014

Two reports on Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe were published in October 2014.

The CESEE Regional Economic Issues (REI) update, published on October 10, 2014, assesses the macroeconomic outlook for the region in light of the latest global economic and financial developments.

Regional Economic Issues Special Report, published on October 24, 2014, examines the past 25 years of dramatic transformation in Europe's former communist countries, as well as policies needed to revitalize convergence with Western European economies.

Survey Story

Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe

The CESEE region includes Turkey and the following four sub-regions:

  • Central and Eastern Europe (CEE), consisting of the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia (21 percent of regional GDP)
  • Southeastern Europe (SEE), consisting of Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania and Serbia (8 percent of regional GDP)
  • The Baltic region, consisting of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania (2 percent of regional GDP)
  • The CIS group, consisting of Belarus, Moldova, Russia and Ukraine (51 percent of regional GDP).